top of page



West Bengal State




North Bengal


Kazi Nazrul

VU Logo.png


Calcutta University

The University of Calcutta (informally known as Calcutta University or CU) is a public state university located in Kolkata (formerly Calcutta), West Bengal, India established on 24 January 1857. It was the first institution in Asia to be established as a multidisciplinary and secular Western-style university. Within India it is recognized as a "Five-Star University" and a "Centre with Potential for Excellence" by the University Grants Commission and the National Assessment and Accreditation Council. Its alumni and faculty include four Nobel laureates, namely Ronald Ross (Medicine), Rabindranath Tagore (Literature), C. V. Raman (Physics), and Amartya Sen (Economics). The university has the highest number of students who have cleared the doctoral entrance eligibility exam in Natural Science & Arts conducted by Government of India's National Eligibility Test to become eligible to pursue research with a full scholarship awarded by the Government of India.


Kalyani University

The University of Kalyani, established in 1960, is a state-government administered, affiliating and research university in Nadia district of West Bengal, India. It offers courses at the undergraduate and post-graduate levels.

The university was established on 1 November 1960 by the Kalyani University Act 1960 of the state of West Bengal. The University of Kalyani is a State- University and its activities are guided by the Kalyani University Act, 1981 (amended up to 2001), enacted by the Govt. of West Bengal. The Act is supplemented by 'Statutes', 'Ordinances','Regulations' and 'Rules'. This act replaced 'The Kalyani University (Temporary Suppression) Act, 1978, which in turn replaced 'The Kalyani University Act, 1960. The University Grants Commission accorded recognition to the university.


Bankura University

Bankura University is a public university in Bankura, West Bengal. The university was established in 2013 and Professor Deb Narayan Bandyopadhyay became the first Vice Chancellor.


Burdwan University

The University of Burdwan (also known as Burdwan University or B.U.) is a public university in Purba Bardhaman, West Bengal, India. It was established by the West Bengal Government as a teaching and affiliating university on 15 June 1960 with six graduate departments and 30 undergraduate colleges spread over three districts that come under the jurisdiction of the university. The jurisdiction covers Birbhum district, Burdwan district except Asansol subdivision and Hooghly district except Srirampore subdivision. The main campus is of 398 acres (approximately).

The university offers more than 30 undergraduate and 66 postgraduate courses. There are 227 Esteemed Faculties and 189 affiliated colleges (including degree colleges, B.Ed. colleges and private professional institutes).

The university has been awarded A Grade by the NAAC on 06/11/2016.


North Bengal University

The University of North Bengal is a state university in Raja Rammohanpur, Siliguri in Darjeeling district in the Indian state of West Bengal. A second campus is in Danguajhar, Jalpaiguri in Jalpaiguri district, also in West Bengal. The university was established in 1962 to fill growing manpower needs in the six North Bengal districts and the neighbouring state of Sikkim. North Bengal University offers degrees in undergraduate, post-graduate, M. Phil and doctorate programs.
The University of North Bengal was established by Act of the Legislature of West Bengal in 1962. It was the first university in the region. It served predominantly rural areas in six districts: Darjeeling, Jalpaiguri, Cooch Behar, Maldah, Uttar Dinajpur and Dakshin Dinajpur.

In 2008, the University of Gour Banga was established and almost all the 28 colleges in Maldah, Uttar Dinajpur and Dakshin Dinajpur (with the exception of Raiganj University College) were affiliated to it.

In 2012-13, Cooch Behar Panchanan Barma University was established with all the colleges of Cooch Behar district and Alipurduar subdivision of Jalpaiguri district affiliated with it. The University of North Bengal has jurisdiction over the districts of Darjeeling and Jalpaiguri.


West Bengal State University

(Barasat University)

West Bengal State University (WBSU) also known as Barasat University, is a public university situated in Berunanpukuria, 6 km off form Barasat city, North 24 Paraganas, near the city of Kolkata, West Bengal, India.

All the 59 colleges (including Undergraduate, Postgraduate and B.Ed) in the district of North 24 Parganas, which were formerly affiliated with the University of Calcutta, are affiliated to this university.

CBCS KNU S _edited.jpg

Kazi Nazrul

Kazi Nazrul University (KNU), a nascent university in the district of Paschim Bardhaman of West Bengal, runs on its campus and also in its affiliated colleges Diploma, Under Graduate, Post Graduate, M Phil and Ph.D. courses in the Faculty of Arts and fine Arts, Faculty of Science & Technology, Faculty of Law and Faculty of Commerce & Management. It caters to the need of more than forty four thousand students every year.

Within eight years of its existance, KNU has put a mark in academia by way of imparting knowledge, developing skills, promoting entrepreneurship among students for making them competent as per needs of the society from the local to the global in various fields including research.Various initiatives have already been taken to internationalize the University for connecting it globally with institutions of repute.



Vidyasagar University was established by an Act of the West Bengal legislature which was notified in the Calcutta Gazette on 24 June 1981. It is an affiliating university in Paschim Medinipur district of southern West Bengal, India. It offers courses at the undergraduate and post-graduate levels.

It was founded by the mathematician and statistician from the University of Cambridge, Anil Kumar Gain.

VU Campus.jpg
VU Logo.png
For any further clarification or queries please Contact Us
bottom of page